I love him… And at heart, I didn’t want to.

There’s this guy at my school. He’s very, very openly gay.

And we keep running into each other.

In the cafeteria, in the halls, we pass each other and exchange hellos. I wasn’t hesitant to say hello or anything like that. I decided right away that I would be friendly because he’s a person, too, and from experience, no matter who the person, they deserve and need to be loved.

So I did. Asked about his day, laughed with him at life and I really enjoyed his witty remarks…

But that isn’t to say I wasn’t uncomfortable. I still held up a couple walls, keeping my distance, trying to figure him out. It was… just an interesting situation. I’ve never interacted directly with someone who was homosexual. So I didn’t want to get too far into it.

But then today I ran into him again. We smiled and said hello. He was in heels; I was trying not to stare at his feet. After the “how are you” exchange, he immediately said something that caught me off guard.

“You know, I just wanted to say,” he said enthusiastically, “that I’m really glad I get to be in your presence. You’re always smiling and you’re loud, which is a good thing, and you just brighten my day. You’re so friendly, and I just wanted you to know that.”

I felt myself blush and smiled wide. I hadn’t had someone tell me that in a long, long time. I told him the same – because it was true. He always made me smile in the minutes we had in passing, and he was always so gracious and friendly.

We said “See you later!” and parted ways. And as I walked away, I realized, I love him. I really love him, even thought I didn’t want to at first. But since that moment, I saw him as Jesus does.

A beautiful soul. A person with talents and a personality determined to love regardless – something I strive to do as well.

I am against homosexuality. The Bible is very, very clear in that it is a sin (see these passages, among several others).

While you’re at it, check out this interview with John Piper on the subject.

But isn’t my distrust in God a sin? My judgmental attitude that I have sometimes? My moments of bitterness? My laziness in picking up the Bible I seem to preach so fervently from?

We all have our struggles with sins. Our assumption of one being worse than another is false. So we should #loveregardless and work together in prayer and openness to grow into a people of holiness.

“Therefore, confess your sins to one another and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person has great power as it is working.”

James 5:16

If the relationship I have with this awesome person continues to develop, I’m not going to shove in his face that he’s sinning and going to hell. Because, without Jesus, I would be headed there, too. Instead, I’ll say what the truth is – that he needs Jesus. Just like I do. Like all sinners do.

I’m going to love him, regardless.

Shouldn’t we all, as the body of Christ?

It’s painful to see people struggle with homosexuality. Sometimes it’s tempting to forget that it’s a sin and let them find happiness in it. I encourage you to look at these three blog posts from a homosexual man who is a Christian and refuses to give into his sinful nature. They’re a powerful example of God’s strength in weakness and redemption.
Leave a Reply

