Choosing Thankfulness [Part 1]

In a recent post, I wrote about being worn and healed. Yes, there was healing. But when I thought the healing was completed, I was dragged down to find I was only in the mere beginnings. It takes a lot longer to heal from such a loss than I assumed it would. However, each word of that post remains true. It is by God’s grace alone that healing happens. God’s love is immense, unending, and passionate. In fact, that post served to minister to myself as the process pushed on.

Now, I have reached a point of peace in the storm where I feel I can open my heart to you as I continue on the steps of this journey, in hopes that God speaks to you as He spoke to me.

In the past two days, I have been shown an incredible display of God’s grace and love yet again – but still as fresh and surprising as ever. I  heard God speak through a beautiful mentor yesterday. Then He spoke again in a sermon this evening from a pastor who does not know me, does not know my story, and on a night where I almost stayed home because I just didn’t feel up to going to church. In both instances, God was so personal, so present and touching. I was completely amazed and thankful.

Thankful. When I met with my mentor a few weeks ago, she told me about a book called “One Thousand Gifts” by Ann Voskamp. Then, when we met yesterday, she gave me the accompanying devotional and challenged me with the dare given in the book – to write down one thousand blessings. Each blessing is a gift from God (see James 1:17 – my favorite verse), and having a thankful heart for each grace helps bring you to a place where you can live joyfully, no matter what the circumstances.

So here is what my hope is, and I’m posting this so that you will hold me accountable – each Sunday, I will post some of my list of thanks from the week (and any other thoughts that I wish to share on my blog). I should be posting more regularly, anyway, and this is is a challenge that I need to meet. And of course, I challenge you to do this yourself. Share in the comments each week the blessings you find. And comment if I forget to post! :)

I’m so excited to see what God will do through this! His grace is incredible. See you next week. :)

5 thoughts on “Choosing Thankfulness [Part 1]

Leave a Reply

