I’m Human.

No, this title does not have the usual connotation it does of, “Well, I’m human, I make mistakes like everyone else.”

In my first post ever, I said that I would express my questions as well as what I’ve learned. This is one of those times where I’m going to talk about what I simply don’t know. Answers are welcome if you have them.

I’m struggling right now in quite a few areas, but here’s the one that’s clearly thought out at the moment: the age-old question, how could a loving God allow bad things to happen to good people?

I know there are verses that give answers.

Romans 8:28
 And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.

Job 1:21
… and said: “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I will depart. The LORD gave and the LORD has taken away;  may the name of the LORD be praised.”

II Corinthians 12:9-10
But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

These are just a few. Perhaps I haven’t researched enough (I will readily admit that I am not in the Word nearly as much as I should be), but there is still something that is unanswered for me.

If I love a person, I will do everything in my power to prevent them pain, even if it’s minuscule. God loves me, but He will allow painful things to happen to me. Why? The Bible says it is for my good, to refine me, and for His glory. And, as explained in Job, He simply has the power to do that. But why would He use that? Besides, wouldn’t it be even a greater display of His power if an oncoming pain was avoided? Even then, why would someone who loves someone else want themselves to be glorified? Don’t they want everything good for the other person?

Here’s where the title comes in. My only answer to these questions at the moment is that I’m human. I can’t possibly understand the grandeur and sovereignty of God. My perception of love and what I expect from a loving God is only a sliver of what reality is, what He is. I don’t understand what love really is. I don’t understand the perfection of God. I’m simply human, with a human mind that can only grasp the smallest of concepts.

So maybe there isn’t an answer. Not one that we can know now, anyway. This life is nothing in comparison to eternity; this is not our home. Our home will have no pain, and all the pain on this earth will quickly be forgotten.

For now, I pray that I can have strength to be a strong woman of God. I don’t want any more moments of doubt and weakness toward my Savior. I pray I can become more grounded in the Bible. I want to always be ready to say that God is good. I want to willingly encourage and believe what I say to the fullest, I want to support without wanting to get back. I want to be committed to prayer and to my Lord. I need prayer to do this.

Again, feel free to comment with answers or whatever is on your heart. I want this not to be left empty and open. Although I usually don’t reply to comments, I will to this one.

May God be glorified. May we be drawn ever closer.

Leave a Reply

