Life Has Meaning

Hey, everyone. I don’t really know how to start, this being my first post and all… So I think I’m going to jump right into it.

I decided to create a blog because, the past couple of months, I’ve been learning a lot from God. This is the purpose of my blog: to share what I’ve learned, because I believe wisdom is to be shared, to record my thoughts on life, to testify, and to share an occasional fun story from my life. Ultimately, I want to tell others of the things God has shown me. It’s been an incredible journey. I want to give others hope and show you what I’ve learned so perhaps you too can benefit from it.

I don’t want to say I’m particularly wise or make myself seem “holier-than-thou” in any way. Not at all. I just feel that I have the responsibility to share the wisdom I do have. And, in fact, I intend to also share my questions and not-so-wise thoughts.

Lately, I’ve been struggling with what life means. Particularly, life on this earth. I am a Christian who believes in an afterlife – an eternity with God in Heaven if you believe and live by Christ. I know that I’m going to live with Him after I die. Now here is my question: If God wants me to live with Him, and it is already set that I am going to live with Him, then why do I need to go through this earth at all? Why did I have to endure the struggles I did, receive the scars I have, and be refined if I could easily be made perfect in an instant and be with the God that loves me? Why does Earth need to be a step at all?

I am very thankful and happy with my life. I know life has meaning because God says so. But, my testimony of Christ contains many hard experiences and scars that I am still struggling to get past. I have seen some wonderful things come from these scars, but others I have not yet seen such results from and I don’t know that I ever will. I am blessed that I have been refined. But why do the other scars remain? Why did they have to be? They have not drawn me closer to God. Even with the ones that have healed, I wonder again why Earth has to be a step at all to get to Heaven.

My boyfriend is a true blessing to me and my best friend. I told him about this. He prayed for me and showed me the song, “Reason For the World” by Matthew West (which you can find below). Take a look at the lyrics:

There are no words in times like these
When tears don’t hide the tragedies,
And all you want is a reason for the world.
No comfort in the greeting card,
‘Cause God is good,
But life’s still hard,
and your heart just wants a reason for the world.

But maybe the reason for the pain
Is so we would pray for strength,
And maybe the reason for the strength
Is so that we would not lose hope.
And maybe the reason for all hope
Is so that we could face the world,
And the reason for the world
Is to make us long for home.

For God so loved your broken heart,
He sent his Son to where you are, and he died
To give a reason for the world.
So lift your sorrows to the One
Whose plan for you has just begun,
And rests here in the hands that hold the world.

‘Cause maybe the reason for the pain
Is so we would pray for strength,
And maybe the reason for the strength
Is so that we would not lose hope.
And maybe the reason for all hope
Is so that we could face the world,
And the reason for the world
Is to make us long for home.

Well, I know your past the point of broken,
Surrounded by your fear.
I know your feet are tired and weary,
From the road that you walked down here.
But just keep your eyes on heaven
And know that you are not alone.
Remember the reason for the world.

No ear has heard,
No eye has seen,
Not even in your wildest dreams,
The beauty that awaits beyond this world,
When you look into the eyes of grace
And hear the voice of mercy say,
“Child, welcome to the reason for the world.”

I realized something. I don’t know all the answers. I may never know the answers, although I won’t stop looking. But this is the truth. I have faith. I have faith that there is a reason for this step to God. The point is, I’m here and I can’t change that. I’m on Earth, created to live for God, so I will, because I believe God loves me and living His life is the least I can do. And I know that there is pain, but I know that it is worth it for when I return home. Because this world is not my home – Heaven is. And I am going there, to be with the One I love, for all eternity.

And this world and all my scars will quickly fade.

That is beautiful. And that gives life meaning.

One thought on “Life Has Meaning

  1. Cool blog. I guess I can give a few short answers. God has an eternal decree that is part of His most wise counsel and that plan includes Emily. And that plan includes struggles and scars and refining. God could make us perfect all at once but that was not His will. By His grace He chooses to use us to share the Gospel with others and to encourage each other and to grow in grace. I know this sound like a general answer but we may not know the reason for things until we are with God.

    Pastor Gordon

Leave a Reply

